February 6, 2023



Presidential Elections 2022: Polling underway at Parliament House and State legislative assemblies

1 min read

NDA presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu is contesting the Presidential election against the Opposition’s nominee Yashwant Sinha.

Murmu is a likely favourite to the win the top job, after she received support from the Shiv Sena and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha.

Biju Janata Dal and YSR Congress Party had both showed their support for her candidacy.

Yashwant Sinha, the former Union Minister, was chosen Opposition candidate after Sharad Pawar, Farooq Abdullah and Gopalkrishna Gandhi, all refused to run.

On Saturday, Sinha appealed BJP lawmakers to vote for him. 

The President of India is indirectly elected through an electoral college which comprises MPs of both houses and MLAs from all states and union territories.

PM Narendra Modi, former PM Manmohan Singh, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and several MPs, MLAs including state Chief Ministers have cast their votes., as counting begins July 21, with the new President formally taking oath on July 25.

See also  What Happens If You Drop A Penny From The Top Of The Empire State Building?
Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.