December 3, 2022


Rajya Sabha Elections: Counting underway for 16 Rajya Sabha seats

3 min read

16 Rajya Sabha seats spread across four states – Rajasthan, Haryana, Maharashtra and Karnataka, are up for the taking in the biennial elections to the Upper House of the Indian Parliament, with voting taking place on Friday.

The Upper House election will be crucial in view of the Presidential elections which is scheduled to be held on 18 July.

Voting started at 9 am in the Assembly building and will continue till 4 pm. Counting begins at 5 pm.

41 candidates have already been elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha.

Bharatiya Tribal Party legislator Rajkumar Roat on Friday targeted its own party chief Velaram Ghoghra, saying he has become “old” to understand the issues. 

BTP legislators, Roat and Ramprasad Dindor voted in support of the ruling Congress candidates in the Rajya Sabha polls on Friday going against their party chief who had issued whip to its MLAs to not take part in the election process.Jun 10, 2022 16:24 (IST)“To Defeat BJP.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s and the AIMIM’s Big Move

The All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) decided to vote in favour of the Congress candidate for the Rajya Sabha polls from Maharashtra being held on Friday. Seven candidates are contesting for the six seats from Maharashtra where polling is being held today.

The Bombay High Court on Friday refused to hear the amended petition filed by Maharashtra Minister Nawab Malik seeking permission to cast his vote in the Rajya Sabha elections.

Earlier in the day, the bench of Justice Bharati Dangare denied immediate relief to jailed Malik.
The court said that this petition is wrong and asked him to approach with an amended application before an appropriate bench.

See also  Supreme Court cancels Lakhimpur Kheri violence accused Ashish Mishra’s bai

The Rajya Sabha race in Rajasthan triggered a controversy when Shobha Rani Kushwaha, the BJP candidate from Dholpur, was voting. Reports suggest her party’s poll observer Rajendra Rathore took her vote slip, which is against the rules. BJP-backed candidate and media baron Subhash Chandra demanded that it be declared ‘invalid’ on those grounds.

The BJP also raised objections on three votes of the Maha Vikas Aghadi coalition (MVA) in Maharashtra, Yashomati Thakur of Congress, Jitendra Awhad (NCP) and Suhas Kande (Sena).

Parag Alavani, BJP’s polling agent, said that as per rules, the elector has to show ballot to their authorized agent from a safe distance.

However, two of them gave their ballot paper to their agents, while Kande showed it in such a way that two agents of different parties could see it, he alleged.

BJP requested the returning Officer to hold their votes invalid, which was reportedly overruled.

‘All four MVA candidates will get elected. BJP knows this and that is why they are trying to create confusion,’ Thakur said about the BJP’s claim on the validity of her vote.

BJP-JJP backed Haryana Independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma wrote to the Election ComJD(S) MLA votes for Congress,mission, demanding cancellation of votes of Congress MLAs Kiran Choudhry & BB Batra, due to ‘violation of the secrecy of votes in the Conduct of Election Rules 196.’

The BJP delegation led by Gajendra Shekhawat was to meet the EC at 5.30 pm in New Delhi. EC will be examining the objections, before giving clearance for counting.

JD(S) MLA votes for Congress, another casts blank ballot

The JD(S) claimed two disgruntled MLAs did not vote in favour of its candidate in the Rajya Sabha polls for four seats from Karnataka, defying the party orders, with one of its legislators admitting he did so since he ‘loved’ voting for the Congress nominee.

See also  Congress leaders elect Mallikarjun Kharge new party president

K Srinivas Gowda, MLA from Kolar, cast his vote for the Congress candidate, while Gubbi MLA S R Srinivas put a blank ballot paper into the box, which will be counted as invalid, JD(S) head H D Kumaraswamy said.

Counting of votes that was scheduled to begin at 5 pm is likely to be delayed owing to Kartikeya Sharma and the BJP’s complaint seeking disqualification of two Congress votes.

Elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats are going to be vacant due to the retirement of members from 15 states

Stay updated with all the insights.
Navigate news, 1 email day.
Subscribe to Qrius

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.